Skip to content

simple pleasures and simple lessons

September 3, 2008

I love the ordinary of the every day and the simple pleasures that speak to our hearts.  Even the most mundane moments have the potential to speak volumes if we allow ourselves to see their depth.

Take for instance my weekly Starbucks Wednesday run.  (Not that I find Starbucks Wednesday mundane… it falls under the simple pleasures category.)  Several weeks ago I was unusually impatient as I stood in front of the elevator, which took longer than normal.  The UPS lady got on the elevator with me and got off at the next floor down.  Instead of an express ride to the first floor, the elevator stopped at the third floor and then the second floor.  I had to laugh.  ‘Ok, Lord.  I get it: I need to be patient.  I can’t get frustrated because of delays over which I have no control.  Lesson learned, now can I just get my latte?’

But it was more than just patience.  So many times I only think about the end result and I don’t appreciate the journey to that end.  I am learning to take off the blinders that keep my eyes set on the goal in order to live in the moment.  God will give me the desires of my heart in His time, not in mine.  He allows little delays to prepare me for whatever is to come.  Perhaps I am not ready for that which my heart desires or maybe I need to wait longer in order to fully appreciate whatever it is I am striving for.  Rather than waste this time stuck on the second floor (oh how I hope I am at floor two and not four or five!), I have to live this moment to the full and be grateful for every aspect of the journey.

Every time I get on the elevator on Wednesday morning to head to Starbucks, I am reminded of this lesson.  And would you believe, reader, that this little analogy also gives me hope?  It does!  In those moments when it seems as though the elevator is not moving at all, I remind myself that no matter how long the delay God will give me my heart’s desire… and a latte.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mariangrace permalink
    September 3, 2008 3:49 pm

    Excellent thoughs, worded very well, on a virtue the world really needs – patience.

  2. September 3, 2008 9:11 pm

    Thanks Cecilia. A much needed reminder for us all!

Have your say...

