Skip to content

It’s Rita’s Birthday!

September 4, 2008

Today is a historic day for my family.  My youngest sister turns twenty!  The teenage years are over!!  Special recognition should go to my parents who survived six teens.

Rita, the birthday girl, is a woman of quiet strength.  She has put up with teasing, patronizing, spoiling and bossing around from five older siblings.  It has strengthened her character and formed her into a woman of kindness and integrity.  I have a lot of respect for Rita – she has the heart of a servant, always willing to help those in need and to stand up for those who cannot defend themselves.

My respect for my sister, nine year my junior, sky-rocketed this summer.  As I said in one of my previous posts, I started dancing again and dragged Rita with me.  She has always been athletic (she played soccer), but was never much of a dancer.  Ballet Folklorico is no where near Rita’s comfort zone.  Fun-loving, adventurous girl that she is, Rita decided to take up the challenge.  She would often say, “This is so hard for me because I am not a dancer.”  That statement is no longer true.  Over the last three months, Rita has become a dancer.  Dancing doesn’t come easy for her, but she has the dedication and determination to excel.

Rita, I am so proud of what you have accomplished in your twenty years and especially this summer.  I am honored to have witnessed you become a dancer and an even stronger woman of God.  I am blessed to have you as a sister.  Happy Birthday!!!

No comments yet

Have your say...

