Skip to content

under the influence of congestion

September 12, 2008

Thanks for the prayers for little Sam – he came out of surgery just fine.

I, on the other hand, have not fared so well.  I was sick yesterday with a horrid head cold.  I was going to write from my sick bed, but I could barely lift my head much less write a coherent sentence.

I woke up at 3:30 AM on Thursday morning and couldn’t fall back to sleep because my throat hurt.  I camped out on the couch with a book.  Try as I might, I could not fall asleep and it wasn’t because I was thinking of my last couch campout (see post about bats).  As I alternated between reading and resting my eyes, I decided there was no way I could go to work.  Then I thought of all the things I need to do around the house but never have time for.  Since I’m home for a day, I thought to myself, I can clean my room, sweep the floors, wash my Folklorico dresses, write a post for the blog.  I even thought about calling my hair stylist and seeing if she could fit me in.  It was an ambitious plan but I rarely have that kind of time, and I wanted to make the most of it.  Reader, I didn’t do any of it!  Surprised?  Well, I said before I could barely lift my head.  All I could do was lay on the couch and read, eat, sleep and watch a movie or two.  I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised – my plan was invented at four in the morning under the influence of congestion.  I was a little disappointed that I wasn’t more productive, but I suppose I need to take a break every once in a while.

Thanks to all that resting I did, a lot of garlic, loads of alfalfa and several other home remedies, I am on the mend.  And just in time for a busy weekend!  Be prepared for an adventure-filled post coming soon…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    September 21, 2008 2:34 pm

    Keep munching the garlic my mom would say, til you feel like a lil heifer!

  2. Cristin Luea permalink
    September 21, 2008 2:34 pm

    I mean the alfalfa! :-)

Have your say...

