Skip to content

festival fun

September 15, 2008

I love the rain, but this weekend was too much even for me.  I enjoyed Saturday’s rain – it was warm, but the temperature dropped on Sunday and the wind picked up.  I probably wouldn’t have minded if I had stayed home with a book and a hot cup of tea, but I didn’t.  The Grand Rapids Mexican Festival was this weekend.  Who am I to stay at home when there are dances to be danced, mariachi bands to be heard, food to be eaten and friends to see?  And so the rain simply added a touch of adventure to this year’s festival.

There was a sense of exhilaration in braving the on-again-off-again torrential downpours for the Mexican festival experience.  I spent the weekend under a tent on the Calder plaza with my sisters, the Racalla sisters, the Mariachi band from Chicago, and a couple other friends.  (We met the Mariachi band last year at the festival, and apparently the Schwartz girls leave a lasting impression because they remembered us.)  We had a great time laughing and dancing the weekend away.  I wish it could have lasted a little longer, but I am grateful for the time we had.

(I apologize if this post is a little muddled.  I tossed and turned all night long so I am tired and distracted today.  Dear Lord, please let me get some sleep tonight.)

No comments yet

Have your say...

