Skip to content

is there hope for the Lions?

September 25, 2008

Well Lions fans, perhaps there is hope after all.  After years of chanting ‘Fire Millen’, our cries have been heard, our prayers answered.  Millen is gone and there is a glimmer of hope.  Oh, I am not saying things are going to change tomorrow – Millen’s legacy has to be undone – but knowing that there could be change is a HUGE step in the right direction.  I know there are tons of skeptics out there, but not me.  I will look on the bright side of things.

Yesterday the news led to several discussions, one of which was what it means to be a good sports fan.  My sister, Rose, our good friend, Cecilia (also known as the other Cecilia or Cecilia 2) and I always talked about how being a good fan is like marriage.  We stick with our teams for better or worse, in winning seasons and losing seasons, in sickness and in health.  We love our boys through it all.  Yes, we are faithful fans, never wavering in our loyalty.  We wear the colors with pride and sing the fight songs with gusto.  We encourage our teams when they need it and offer our advice even when they don’t.  We hold to our traditions.  We laugh, cry and get sick with worry.  What can I say?  We are in it for the long haul – till death do us part!

I am more of a college football fan, but I still root for the Lions on Sunday.  And I truly hope this new direction will take them straight to the end-zone again and again and again.

No comments yet

Have your say...

