Skip to content

standing vigil

September 26, 2008

Today was my first vigil.  I walked to the abortion mill at my lunch break for my appointed hour of prayer.  There were two other women already there.  They were just beginning a rosary, so I pulled out my trusty beads from their special pocket in my purse and began “In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.”

After the rosary we spread out, one on each corner of the lot and one in the middle. As I stood there in the sun on this perfect September day, my heart was moved with compassion for the women suffering from their lack of choice.  For those who felt like abortion was their only option, I prayed that God would show them another way out.

I begged God to have mercy on His people, especially those who work at the abortion mills.  How many times have I judged these doctors and nurses?  How many times have I hardened my heart toward them?  They deserve my pity not my scorn.

This was a rather trying week for me.  There were many conflicts and situations that materialized out of nowhere.  It dawned on me or rather my cousin, who mentioned that she and her husband were also experiencing frustrations this week, that it was due to Satan’s counter-attacks.  The battle has begun, my friends, but we will not yeild.  We will continue to stand in silent prayerful vigil.

40 Days for Life – Grand Rapids

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    September 27, 2008 9:15 pm

    I’m glad you found the oppression and attempted social control your church endorses to be such a moving experience. I live in the neighborhood you and your fellow cultists have infiltrated and must tell you, you are not welcome. How you choose to live your life is you business, but it is not your right to force you beliefs on others. If you choose to live your life based on the word of an imaginary deity it is your choice, but by creating more pain, confusion and guilt in women who have had to make a difficult choice you are not doing good works. What is your solution? Should 16 year olds have children? Will your god help them when they can only get a job at Wal Mart? People make mistakes, why do you endorse punishing them? As far as I understand, Jesus taught compassion and forgiveness, but what you and your fellow zealots are attempting to do is just mean. You are employing classic brainwashing techniques, attacking people when they are at their weakest. This is not helping. If you do not believe abortions should be legal or are immoral then by all means, don’t have one. But please stop attempting to govern the actions of others. There are many paths in life, yours works for you, but may not work for others. If you wanted to truly help people perhaps you could implore your church to adequately deal with child molesting priests, or perhaps you could volunteer at the soup kitchens and shelters on Division.

  2. ceciliamschwartz permalink
    September 28, 2008 9:21 pm

    Tom,

    I am sorry you feel that way, but we are not actually forcing our beliefs on anyone. We are allowed to take a stand for what we believe is right – it is known as the First Amendment. You have the right to voice your opinion and we have ours, even if people harden their hearts to what we have to say. Abortion is not a popular topic – there is so much emotion, pain, hurt and confusion involved. We are not attacking anyone, nor are there any brainwashing techniques involved. We are simply there to pray. We are not approaching anyone who is entering the clinic. We are not picketing or chanting or yelling insults. We are holding a peaceful vigil, a prayerful vigil.

    I am not going to engage in a debate as to whether or not abortion is right or wrong, and I am not going to give you the satisfaction of getting flustered over your attacks on God and the Church.

    I know it doesn’t mean anything to you, but I pray that God would bless you anyway.

    ceciliamschwartz

    PS – Just to let you know, I too live in the neighborhood and find the presence of my fellow Catholics and Christians encouraging.

  3. mariangrace permalink
    September 29, 2008 11:08 am

    Thanks for standing out there Cecilia! I was born to a very young mother. She was still a child herself when I was born. She made the choice to keep me and I know she cannont imagine her life any different. She has been happy to love and be loved by me despite the struggles of being a young mom. When I see people standing peaceful and silent outside the clinics, lifting their prayers to the Lord, I see this as a powerful statement to this girls that there are other options, and they are still loved and have worth despite their mistakes or whatever harmful thing may be been done to them.

Have your say...

