Skip to content

isolated but not ignorant

October 8, 2008

The walk home from work yesterday was glorious!  It took longer than usual because I wanted to savor the moment.  It was a typical fall day with mild temps and a slightly overcast sky that made vibrant the fall colors.  Small yellow leaves floated to the street intermittently, but they danced around me en masse when the gentle breeze attempted to be a gust of wind.  I reveled in the beauty that surrounded me.

As I strolled along Fountain St, I realized how isolated I am from the horrors of the world.  I have a life full of beauty and love.  It’s not perfect: I have my struggles and obstacles, trials and challenges, but overall I want for nothing.  Ok, so there are several things I want – what I mean is that all my basic needs are met and then some.  I suppose I could live in my little bubble blissfully unaware of travesties occurring in faraway places.  But in reality, I couldn’t.  I wouldn’t be able to look at myself knowing that crimes against humanity are taking place as I sit idly by.

I was reminded of this Monday night at the annual Focus on Life dinner.  Sometimes it is overwhelming to think of all the horrible, degrading things being done to humans throughout the world.  It is hard to know where to begin and what to do.  Thankfully, things like the 40 Days for Life and the Focus on Life dinner bring certain issues to the forefront and offer folks like us, the every day citizen, a chance to do something about it.

These atrocities against human life aren’t in far-off places; they are in our own backyard.  In November, the State of Michigan will vote on Proposal 2 which deals with embryonic stem cell research, human cloning and unrestricted science, which points to human-animal hybrids (check out MiCause for more info).  I shudder to think what could happen if we let this proposal pass.

It is in these days that I cling to Proverbs 31:25, learning to laugh at the days to come, trusting God and His infinite wisdom while begging Him for mercy.  I was grateful that yesterday was the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.  The Blessed Mother has brought many messages of hope and comfort over the centuries.  The rosary, especially, is a prayer of hope as we meditate on the life of Christ as seen through His Mother’s eyes.

Dried leaves fluttered around my feet as I neared home.  I may be protected from seeing the indecencies our society forces on its weakest members, but I will not live in ignorance of the truth.  And as scary as the future may seem, I am determined to laugh at the days to come!

When you head to the polls, remember fellow Michiganders that 2goes2far!

Have your say...

