Skip to content

tree-mendous!

October 21, 2008

Well, the cold weather is officially here!  It is official because I started wearing my boots.  I dug them out for the marathon on Sunday and have added them to my daily attire.  Amazingly, this is a welcome change: I was beginning to hate my walking shoes.  I was actually able to enjoy my walk home today since I didn’t despise my shoes!

I took a detour to Martha’s Vineyard to pick up a few thing, and on my way back to the house, I passed a giant maple tree.  The leaves were huge and I mean H-U-G-E.  I don’t even know if ‘giant maple tree’ is an actual name of a tree, but if ever one did exist I found it!

I suppose I should know if there is such a thing as a giant maple tree.  After all I won fifth place at Science Olympiad regionals my senior year of high school in the event Tree-mendous, which was all about identifying trees.  Actually, H.B., my Tree-mendous teammate, won the medal.  She was the brains of the outfit (She was the valedictorian of our class).  I was simply the brawn: I carried the reference books and such.

Ahh… Tonight memory lane is lined with giant maple trees with leaves bigger than my head!

No comments yet

Have your say...

