Skip to content

standing vigil 5.7: on the road

November 3, 2008

Early last Wednesday morning (and I mean EARLY as in 4:30 am), I loaded my car and set off for the east coast with Amanda and Kara.  Though our final destinations were different (Amanda: the Bronx to visit an aunt; Kara: Brooklyn to visit the Daughters of Charity; and me: New Jersey to stand up in a friend’s wedding), we made the first leg of the journey together.  Knowing I would miss the last Friday of 40 Days for Life in Grand Rapids, I decided to find a city participating in the vigil along the way.  Toledo was the only one I could find that wouldn’t require a major detour.

We arrived later than I expected due to a forty-five minuted stand-still in Michigan just before the Ohio border.  There were three men praying at the clinic when we pulled up on that bitterly cold morning.  We didn’t have a lot of time before we needed to get back to the open road, but it was enough time to pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy (a personal favorite) and exchange a few words with Jim, one of the prayer warriors.

Complete strangers with a common purpose, we were brought together by our love for the unborn, their mothers and those who work in the business of abortion.  It is one thing to know there are other cities participating in the 40 Days for Life; it is quite another to meet those people who have been praying with you from miles away.  I was moved by Jim’s encouragement and support.

I am so sad this is coming to an end.  Well, it is bittersweet.  The last few days of fasting have been harder than the first.  Thankfully, I have my friend’s wedding to distract me.  But there is a part of me that wishes the campaign was longer than 40 days.  I am in awe of God’s goodness and mercy.  He has raised little battalions of prayer warriors in all the cities that participated and has unified them through prayer.

I know this crusade against abortion does not end here.  There is much to be done.  These last few weeks were not only a time of being on the front lines, but also preparation and training for the days and weeks and months ahead.  This may be the end of the campaign, but it is the beginning of another battle.  So we claim the ultimate victory in the name of God the Almighty and go out into the fray with renewed fervor!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    November 3, 2008 5:00 pm

    Sweet! Good for you, sister!

Have your say...

