Skip to content

standing vigil 6.0: hundreds of miles away

November 3, 2008

On Friday I stood vigil from seven hundred miles away.  I wasn’t going to let my last vigil hour pass unacknowledged.  I hadn’t missed my hour till then and what is a few hundred miles anyway?  From God’s perspective that’s nothing!

My last vigil was not the same as the previous weeks.  For one thing, I was inside.  (I was at the Perpetual Adoration Chapel at Our Lady of Fatima in Piscataway, NJ.)  And for another, I was on my knees instead of walking up and down the stretch of sidewalk between the Heritage Clinic and Fulton Street.

I have to admit it was easier to pray for the end to abortion when it was staring me in the face, but I still laid it all out at the feet of Christ present in the Eucharist.  In the final push, my prayers for Julie, Hannah and Sara were united with thousands of other prayers – prayers of healing, forgiveness, hope, compassion, mercy and love.

Yesterday Victory Rallies were held all over the country.  I missed the one for Grand Rapids – I was on the road between New Jersey and Michigan – but the victory belongs to the Lord, nonetheless.  This is where the going gets tough, where the sheep are separated from the goats.

Standing vigil during the 40 Days for Life is easy.  There are coordinators; there is a schedule; there is usually more than one person at a time at the clinic; there is excitement and a sense of urgency.  Now the campaign has ended and this is when things get tough.  Will we go back to our isolated lives now that we aren’t being bombarded daily with the reality of abortion?  Or will we allow ourselves to be transformed by the last 40 Days?  The baton has been passed.  It is our responsibility to continue on with the same fervor and energy.  If you aren’t sure what to do, contact your local pregnancy resource center and find out where/what the needs are.

The 40 Days for Life may be over for 2008, but the full impact has yet to be revealed.  As I knelt in Piscataway, New Jersey, I felt very close to Grand Rapids, Michigan.  The 40 Days for Life has created a united front in this spiritual battle against abortion.  I pray that front will grow stronger and more unified as each city carries on from hundreds of miles away.

No comments yet

Have your say...

