Skip to content

my two cents

November 11, 2008

Thus far I have refrained from writing anything on the election mostly because I am not one to debate others.  That is not to say I am not an informed voter – I am very informed; I just have a hard time recalling that information in the event of a debate.  Besides, I think debates on websites and forums are not very constructive.  That being said, there are several things regarding the election I would like to touch on.

It is over and thank God!  The results were not what I had hoped and desperately prayed for, but it is over.  A few people have asked me if I’ve gotten over it.  I am not so much disappointed in the outcome as I am in the actual voters.  I’m not one to brood over injury or disappointment and I am resigned to the decision made by the majority of the country, though I think it an ignorant and coerced decision.

I understand the significance of having a black president.  Really I do, but I know there are people who voted for Obama because they were afraid of being pegged as a racist.  Voting for someone because of race is just as racist as not voting for someone because of race.  But that is what many people did.  Some went so far as to put aside moral conflicts and voted for the most pro-choice candidate in history.  All for what?  A historic event?  If Obama signs the Freedom of Choice Act, my conscience will be clean knowing I did not allow myself to be deluded into voting for a historic event instead of casting my vote to protect the unborn (“Whatever you do to the least of these, you do unto me” Matt 25).

I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised that Michigan’s Proposal 2 passed, but I was.  We are heading down the slippery slop of unregulated stem cell research.  Who knows what twisted and unnatural experiments this will produce.

The future may look bleak, but we are in God’s hands.  I have been challenged this week to put my fear and anxiety aside, to laugh at the days to come.  All I can do is pray for the newly elected president and for all those in government and politics.

God have mercy on our country!

No comments yet

Have your say...

