Skip to content

and so it begins…

November 17, 2008
Enjoying tea at Kayte & Chris'

Enjoying tea at Kayte & Chris

Parts of lower Michigan saw their first significant snowfall yesterday.  I traversed the width of the state to visit my cousin and her family and therefore saw the variety of accumulation along I-96.  The area where Kayte and Chris live got the most snow.  It snowed all day while we sat in front of the fire reminiscing about the days gone by.  There were a good three to five inches on the ground by the time I left.  Not a blade of grass could be seen!

I loved driving in it.  The roads were slick, and visibility was low.  I was thrilled by the challenge.  Of course, I was also frustrated with other drivers on the road.  I don’t know if it was because of the weather, but folks on the road were causing issues even in areas that didn’t get a lot of snow.  There were people driving sixty miles an hour in the fast lane (by that time conditions were speed limit friendly), and they were passing people in the right lane!  The worst part is they would stay in the left lane, which meant those driving the speed limit (me) had to pass on the right.  Grrr!

Being annoyed by other drivers didn’t bother me, though.  The trip was worth it: not only did I get to drive through my first major snowfall of the season, I also got to spend quality time with my cousin, Kayte, and meet her son, my newest first cousin once removed!

The drive across Michigan simply reminded me that crazy-winter-drivers season has begun!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Safety Guy permalink
    November 18, 2008 9:08 pm

    “Being annoyed by other drivers didn’t bother me…” What other annoyances don’t bother you? If annoyances don’t bother you, are you pleased by them?

    How come when I annoy you, you are bothered?

  2. Safety Guy permalink
    November 18, 2008 9:10 pm

    “Being annoyed by other drivers didn’t bother me…” What other annoyances don’t bother you? If annoyances don’t bother you, are you pleased by them?

    How come when I annoy you, you are bothered?

Have your say...

