Skip to content

a cause for celebration

November 18, 2008

Today is the anniversary of my baptism.  It was the greatest gift my parents gave me.  Some may argue that life is the most important thing a parent has to offer.  It is important, but even more precious is the gift of faith and eternal life through the waters of baptism.

On this day twenty-nine years ago, my parents and god-parents presented me to the Church.  They renounced Satan and all his evil works.  They promised to support and cultivate my Catholic faith.  The waters of baptism flowed over my head in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Not only was I cleansed of original sin, but I was adopted in to the family of God.  What a joyful event that shaped my life and continues to impact who I am today.

My parents raised me to acknowledge, accept and embrace my dignity as a daughter of God.  It started that November day when I was marked with the sign of faith.

About two and a half years ago, I was at Holy Family Parish with the family and friends of Daniel Benedict for his Baptism party.  Daniel had been born a couple months prior to our gathering with underdeveloped lungs and was baptized in the hospital.  At the party, Joe, father of Daniel and husband to my dear friend Tennille, told us of their helplessness as they watched little Daniel struggle to breathe.  “All we could do for him was offer him to the Lord and have him baptized.  And that was enough.  Even if he didn’t make it, it would have been enough.”

Baptism is a cause for celebration and that is why I rejoice on the anniversary of my baptism.  My parents have done so much for me, but if all they ever did was have me baptized, it would have been enough.

Have your say...

