Skip to content

the domestic world of cecilia bedelia

November 25, 2008

domestic divaWith Thanksgiving looming in front of me, I decided it was time to get started on my holiday baking.  So over the weekend, I hunkered down in the kitchen forsome serious one-on-one time with the oven.  I didn’t spend my entire weekend holed up in the apartment (I watched the Big Game with my favorite Buckeye: my Grandpa.), but I did spend all of Friday and Sunday nights baking.

It was great fun.  I had forgotten how much I enjoy baking, even with my mixer being broken.  Thankfully it had been a long week and a lot of frustration was taken out on pumpkin bread dough.

I savor the taste of domestic life whenever I get the chance, which isn’t very often these days.  Well, I can’t really say that: most of my spare time is spent in the kitchen where food allergies and intolerances force me to prepare all my own food.  And I enjoy that task.  I have learned to be creative within the limits of my diet.  Still the daily task gets tiresome.  This weekend’s baking adventure was a nice break from the every-day stove-slaving.

It was not easy, the baking adventure.  I used to love to bake because I loved taste-testing, but it now offers a different kind of test: I can’t taste-test at all!  Baking pushes my will-power and discipline to the limit.  I prefer challenges that are concrete and tangible as opposed to abstract.  I know the physical challenges, such as not tasting baked goods at any point in the process, helps prepare me for spiritual trials.

I can’t let my guard down when I am baking.  It is too easy to mindlessly lick the spoon or bowl or to pop in a cookie or two just to make sure they taste ok.  And so too I am reminded that I have to remain vigilant lest I give into temptation without realizing it.

My holiday baking was filled with little lessons and encouragements.  I like to think all of that is reflected in the taste of my cookies and muffins, but I’ll have to find someone else to taste them before I can confirm that!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    November 27, 2008 9:41 am

    Well I do have to say you can confirm that the muffins were delicious, I did enjoy eating them. Thank you for baking. MOM

  2. Cristin Luea permalink
    December 1, 2008 3:15 pm

    You’re so strong – hear you roar! Are you still super strict or mudium strict?

  3. December 2, 2008 7:32 pm

    I am medium strict, but everything I baked was still off limits.

  4. December 10, 2008 11:48 am

    OK, so tell me. What things CAN’T you eat.. and how did you find out? Blood testing? Emilinating?

    I am sure that there is something out there that bothers my stomach.. but I haven’t pinned it down yet. Mostly b/c of the inconvenience of an elimination diet. I just can’t seem to make myself go there.

    It’s hard enough dealing with 2 milk intolerances and a peanut/fish allergy around here. I am SO bad about it. Always messing it up! (Thankfully the allergies are James– so he can take care of himself, mostly ;) )

  5. December 17, 2008 4:40 pm

    Ok – I am lactose intolerant, but I cheat every few weeks. I cut sugar from my diet, and I stay away from gluten. I also don’t eat anything with yeast.

    I didn’t do a blood test. I answered an intense questionaire that concluded I had a Candida yeast overgrowth in my digestive system. The best way to get rid of that is cut out all sugar. I was on a very strict diet for about six months and am now an a moderate diet.

    As I started adding things back in, I noticed I was intolerant to certain foods. I eat a lot of fresh veggies and organic meats, almonds, some low-sugar fruit, etc. The only grains I eat are brown rice and oats. I do eat some corn-based foods, like corn tortillas.

    How’s that for an answer?! :)

Have your say...

