Skip to content

visiting memory lane

November 30, 2008

I got together with a few of my former high school classmates last week.  It is hard to believe graduation was over eleven years ago.  We didn’t have a ten year reunion, but thanks to Facebook, a few of us have reconnected.

When I arrived at Jenny’s house (she graciously offered to host the impromptu gathering), I looked around to see if I recognized any cars or if I was the first to arrive.  It dawned on me that none of us had cars when we were in high school.  We are so grown up, I thought as I walked up the drive.

It was fun trampling through that over-grown portion of memory lane known as the High School Years.  I don’t go down there very often.  The four years I spent at Grand Rapids Central High were full of highs and lows, laughter and tears, success and failure, drama and tragedy, formation and growth.  Oh, and I think I studied a little, or at least did a good job pretending to study.

My social circle was an eclectic group of students.  We were the ones who didn’t really fit into the stereotypical groups.  There were theater kids, band geeks, brainiacs, nerds, etc.  Some of us played sports, some didn’t.  We were a well-rounded group, and four of us were able to gather around to share memories from the good old days.

We have all changed over the last eleven years, but our younger selves were still evident.  It was good to look back and see how far we all have come.  I particularly enjoyed realizing that my foundation has only grown stronger and my awkward nerdiness has lessened (It has not disappeared entirely, but definitely lessened).

Trying to get caught up on the years between then and now took a while, but the jaunt down memory lane was great reminder of all that I am thankful for.  I can honestly say I have no regrets.  My life has not turned out like I thought it would, but I wouldn’t change one thing.  I am thankful for all the struggles and joys of the last eleven years.  And I am especially grateful that this gratitude came just in time for Thanksgiving.

No comments yet

Have your say...

