Skip to content

giving thanks

December 2, 2008
a delicious masterpiece

a delicious masterpiece

It was easy for me to get caught up in the busyness of the Thanksgiving holiday.  On top of my already busy schedule, I had to coordinate the menu for the Schwartz Family Thanksgiving Dinner, plus find time to cook and bake my contributions for said dinner.  I was able distribute my Thanksgiving preparations throughout my schedule and everything on my list was ready by the time we had to leave for Grandpa’s.

My plan-ahead strategy kept stress and anxiety at a minimum.  The only things left to do on Wednesday night were cutting veggies for my vegetable tray and baking the acorn squash.  I was quite the domestic diva as I donned my ultra-cute apron and chopped away, with “Holiday Inn” appropriately playing in the background.  I was able to take my time and enjoy the dinner preparations (the photo is my masterpiece of a veggie tray).  Still, I didn’t really take the time to give thanks until Mass on Thursday morning.

I know going to Mass is one of the best ways I can show my gratitude, but I wish I had given more thought to what I was grateful for.  As the Thanksgiving song in “Holiday Inn” says, “I’ve got plenty to be thankful for.”  My life gets better and better as the years go on.  That is not to say it is easy, but I have learned to appreciate and even welcome the hardships along with the joys.  It’s part of that whole learning-to-laugh-at-the-days-to-come thing.

Here is a summary of the things I am grateful for this year:

–          DANCING!!!!
–          Plantar Fasciitis (The injury helped me appreciate dancing all the more!)
–          Samuel Santonio Benedict and his family
–          This blog
–          Spiritual direction
–          Visiting my great-uncle Lou in February (He passed away in July)
–          My cousin, Ron Culver (His love for the Lord has encouraged me in my faith)
–          My dad’s job
–          My family and friends
–          My roommates (past and present)
–          Continuing my mission to live for eternity in the moment of today.

I could go on and on.  God has been so good to me.  He has provided for my every need and beyond.  And He continues to fulfill His promise to me.  I can ask for nothing more.  All I can do is continue to accept The blessings of the Lord with a humble and grateful heart.

No comments yet

Have your say...

