Skip to content

the edge of crazy

December 11, 2008

I always thought of myself as a practical and sane person, but the last few weeks have made me question my sanity.  Yesterday morning proved I am on the verge of craziness.

What has happened to give me such concern?  Winter set in.  I continually hear people moan and groan about winter: the cold temps, the slippery roads, the snow.  I use to join the chorus of complaints, but as previously mentioned, I have changed my tune.  I now sing the praises of the season: the deliciously cold temps, the challenging snow-covered roads, the romantic snowfalls.  When people find out how much I enjoy winter, they tell me I must be crazy.

I am not saying I enjoy being cold, but add an extra layer or two (or four) and all is well.  (Last year my dad told me of a saying from a northern European country: “There is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing.  Isn’t that the truth!!!)  Just because I take pleasure in this time of year doesn’t mean I’d like it year-round – even good things can get tiresome in large quantities – but I am not going to let my time go to waste.

According to those around me, I am a little off kilter for finding little to complain about during these dark months (I don’t do ice – snow I can handle, but not ice).  Well, if I was a little off kilter before, I am now on the brink of craziness.  Wednesday morning, I woke up at 4:45, put my new running tights on under my running pants, added a couple of layers of shirts and my brand new running shoes.  Then, Emily and I were off.  We ran just over a mile and a half.  It was cold and windy, but a great run.  And my new shoes were terrific!  I’ll have to thank the saleslady at Gazelle Sports who helped me find just the right pair!  (Thanks, Emily!!)

There are a few people I know who enjoy the winter weather just as much as I do, and though we are in the minority I honestly think we are the sane ones.  After all, we aren’t the ones who spend five to six months out of the year frustrated over something that can’t be controlled.  Of course this whole running outside in the winter thing might put me in an entirely different category: crazy runner.  What can I say?  I am enjoying living on the edge!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    December 12, 2008 12:33 am

    How do you run on the slippery sidewalk? Don’t go and break your neck!

  2. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    December 12, 2008 5:21 am

    I would love to run during winter, but the slippery sidewalks or icy streets stop me!

  3. December 17, 2008 4:30 pm

    We ran in the street. It wasn’t too bad – there was enough snow on the road to give us traction. :)

Have your say...

