Skip to content

the great christmas tree adventure

December 14, 2008

Every year, my family gets together with our good friends, the Olecks, for our Christmas traditions.  The first tradition is our Christmas tree shopping adventure.  Nothing in our families is simple: we have to go out, hike around a tree farm, sing carols around a tree decorated with our gloves, hats, scarves, etc. and then cut down our tree.  We used to go to the same tree farm every year (we love our traditions), but a couple of years ago we broke tradition (no one hyperventilated, thank heaven).  A friend of Aunt S offered us a tree off her property.  We’ve taken them up on the offer three years running.

Saturday was the big day.  I didn’t get up as early as I had hoped – my cough kept me from sleeping well.  But I was able to prepare myself for the cold temps and arrive on time.  I had my running leggings under my legwarmers, which were under my jeans, and I had a turtleneck and a sweater under my massive wool sweater.  Over all of this went a trusty down jacket, plus the boots, hat, scarf and mittens.  Whew!  I needed a nap after all of that effort!

I love getting together for our Christmas traditions.  Many times throughout the adventure, I stopped and reveled in the moment.  Apart from tromping through the snow, my favorite part was the light breakfast and coffee provided by the hosting family.  Listening to Dad & Uncle J talk through the political and economical trials affecting us was fascinating.  They solved many problems right there in front of me.  (Not in an amusing aren’t-they-so-cute-with-their-little-solutions way; these are wise, knowledgeable and practical men.  They know what they are talking about.  They are men a polititian would scoff at, but should honestly listen to.)  I learned a lot in those few minutes and was able to enjoy a delicious cup of tea as well.

It was a very successful adventure: By mid-day, seven trees had been chopped and loaded onto/into the cars and vans (with three in Dad’s truck).  We had survived another year without The Voice of Reason (aka Mom, who had to work last year and was sick this year).  Emily picked out a monster of a tree that takes up 1/4 of the living room.  It didn’t look that big in the little forest.  Our tree will look glorious once it is decorated, but that will be another adventure!

the monster tree

the monster tree

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2008 9:07 am

    Your tree is a BEAST!!!!

Have your say...

