Skip to content

love and like

December 23, 2008

I have said before and I’ll say again that I love snow.  This past weekend I realized that I like snow in smaller quantities, say four to six inches, sometimes even five to seven.  I don’t like when mass quantities of snow interfere with my life.

I was to go to the Grand Rapids Ballet’s production of the Nutcracker on Sunday afternoon with my friend, Tennille, and her daughter, Miriam (5 ½).  The roads weren’t too bad in town, but Tennille & Miriam live about twenty minutes south of the city, where open fields and wind made roads impassable.  My sisters came with me instead of the Benedict ladies.  As much as I love spending time with my sisters, I was disappointed that Tennille and Miriam weren’t able to come.

Yesterday morning, I pushed two cars out of snow banks.  Well… sort of…  Emily’s car was stuck on the street and I helped by driving while she pushed.  A couple of hours later, my car got stuck in a mini snow bank in the driveway.  This time there was no one to help.  I did call my brother, but ended up shoveling myself out before he got there.

It took a good 45 minutes of frustration, during which I used every trick I could think of but what I really needed was a push.  So I put the car in neutral, got out and pushed it myself.  Not much happened.  I was able to rock the car a little but didn’t have enough umph to push it out of the snow bank.  That didn’t stop me from trying several times, though.  What can I say?  I was late for work and desperate!  Today I can feel the result of my desperation: I am so sore!

I still love snow, but I don’t necessarily like it right now.

No comments yet

Have your say...

