Skip to content

ode to 08

December 31, 2008
Three Sisters on New Year's Eve

Three Sisters on New Year's Eve

In a few short hours, we will be bidding farewell to 2008.  It will soon be a part of the past, joining its brother years in the ranks of ‘that which will never be again’.  It will become ‘Auld Lang Syne’.

2008 has been incredible.  It was a year for renewing old friendships and strengthening current ones; for learning self-control and discipline; for allowing myself to be vulnerable, having one of my greatest fears come true and realizing how resilient I actually am; and for learning to embrace the moment, even when it is painful.  This year was one of continues challenges and I loved it!

2008 brought the beginning of a promise fulfilled.  Psalm 37, one of my favorites, says “Find your delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  I have truly found my delight in the Lord through the gifts He gave me this year.  I can’t even begin to express my overwhelming joy at being able to dance again.  I love being able to use my sexuality and my passion for dance in a way that is honoring , pure and glorifying to God (thank you Sr. Sarah and Theology of the Body for pointing that out).

The other gift I was given was starting this blog.  Writing on a semi-regular basis has been great fun.  I had thought about writing a blog for a while, but always found excuses not to.  Finally overcoming those insecurities has been a relief.  As I continued to invest in these gifts and offer them to the Lord, I realized that I learned to find my delight in Him.  I know that God honors His promises and He will give me the desires of my heart, but I am not concerned about when.  I am content: I have found my delight in the Lord.

Part of me is reluctant to let go of 2008, but I will have to in order to fully embrace 2009.  So I shall say goodbye to 2008 which, though full of knowledge and wisdom, has grown old and passed its prime.  2009 is waiting to greet me with renewed hope and excitement.

I hope you will join me as I continue my adventures in 2009!

No comments yet

Have your say...

