Skip to content

doomed from the start

January 13, 2009
all bundled up

all bundled up

I used to be a pessimist, an oh-woe-is-me kind of girl – complete with the back of my hand against my forehead as I cried and sighed “Oh woe is me!  Woe is me!”  My life was full of melancholic drama.  Then somewhere along the way, I decided to not take life so seriously.  Instead of focusing on the gloom, I learned to see merriment of life.  My eyes were opened to the world around me.  The prospect of an exciting adventure was around every turn.  Even the situations that usually called for the classic woe-is-me sigh became opportunities to learn and grow.

Being optimistic on a daily basis is a struggle, but I do try.  I can usually find several redeeming moments on even the worst days, including today.  Today wasn’t a bad day, but when the forecast called for a massive temperature drop in the middle of the day, it seemed doomed from the start.

It was a cold wait at the bus stop, with the wind and snow swirling around me.  And that was the warmest part of the day!  The temperature is supposed to go up during the day, not plummet!  I usually detest days like today, but as I sat at my desk at work, I noticed an unusual glow behind me.  My jaw hit the floor when I turned around: it was the SUN!  I went over to the window several times today to bask in the sunlight.  I decided that on the long trek home, I would pretend that the sun’s memory would keep me warm, but I didn’t need to: I was over-heated under all my layers!

Yes, even on days of impending doom (a/k/a falling temperatures) there is something to be grateful for.  Even if the sun hadn’t come out, I am sure I would have found something…  Or I would have reverted to my melodramatic ways and cried out “Oh woe is me!”

No comments yet

Have your say...

