Skip to content

an old custom

January 20, 2009

There is an old Catholic custom of choosing a patron saint for the year.  The idea is this saint, a member of the Church Triumphant, would be your advocate, intercessor, example, support and companion on this year long journey.

A few parishes in the area are bringing back this custom.  (Well, two that I know of.)  Sunday after Mass, I prayed for guidance before heading up to pick a name from the basket.  The saint I drew was Blessed Mary of the Incarnation.  (You can read about her here.)

As you know from my Patron Saint page, there are several with whom I have a strong connection.  Still, I am excited to have the opportunity to get to know another member of the Communion of Saints.  I know there is much I can learn from Bl. Mary, especially from a daily, practical aspect.

I love so many Catholic customs and traditions.  I am pleased to see a couple of parishes partaking of the vast richness the Church has to offer.

No comments yet

Have your say...

