Skip to content

episode 6

February 2, 2009

I walked in the front door Saturday night and made my way up the stairs to the apartment.  I heard Jessica in the hall.

“There’s a bat in the kitchen!” Jessica said.  “I’m trying to call Bill.  He just left.”

I groaned, but I didn’t scream.  All I wanted to do was go to sleep, not deal with a bat!  Thankfully, Jessica’s fiancé wasn’t too far away.  Bill arrived armed with a blanket and a car scrapper brush.  Emily had retreated to her room and Jessica and I stayed in the hall.

“Oh Mr. Baaa-aaattt!” Bill called as he made his way into the infested area.  It took a while for Bill to go through the entire apartment.  On his way upstairs, there was a false alarm regarding a dark sock in the corner, but the bat was no where to be found.

Jessica decided she couldn’t sleep upstaris so she decided to go to her parents house.  Emily said I could sleep in her room.  Jessica and Bill left and I slowly made my way to my room to grab the air mattres and my pajamas.  I turned on the light at the bottom of the spiral stairs that lead to Jessica’s and my room.  I looked in the corner and saw the misleading sock.  My eyes scanned the vase, the pile of books and landed on the picture frame that decorated the corner stair.  There on the frame that holds a photo of my parents was the bat.

I gasped, shut the door and ran for front hall, where Jessica and Bill were still putting on their shoes.  “Bill!  I found it!  I found the bat!”

I told him where it was and waited in the hall with Jessica.  We heard a noise and then a high-pitched whining.  After what seemed like ages, Bill came to the front door.  Jessica opened the door.

“Do you have it?” she asked.

“It’s here in the blanket.”  Bill lifted the blanket.

“I don’t want to see it!” Jessica shrank back.  I had already ducked behind the table on the landing, keeping myself as far away as possible.  Bill took the disgusting creature outside and let it go.

Jessica still went to her parents’ house, leaving me to brave the upstairs bedroom alone.  I slept with the light on all night long, just in case there was another bat.  Needless to say, my sleep was not very restful.  Six bat encounters has left me rather paranoid.  As much as I enjoyed the heat wave, the hibernating rodent with wings started to stir.  I don’t think I can handle another episode.

Note: Notice I have improved: I didn’t scream once!

No comments yet

Have your say...

