Skip to content

football not fashion

February 2, 2009

I watched the Super Bowl at my parents’ with my dad and sisters (Hurray for HD and big screen TV’s!).  Mom had to work later that night so she was sleeping, and Jeff came in and out.  We had great food, great conversation and lots of laughs.  The sisters are great at multi-tasking: we can watch football and discuss serious topics at the same time.

Me: Oh Rita, did you notice my new jeans?

Rita: I did!  They are great!

We talked details (where I got them, price, fit, etc.) and then Rita ran to the other room to put on her new shoes.  She modeled them for us while discussing price, size, and the like.  I tried on her ultra-cute shoes and discovered her feet are bigger than mine.

Me: Did I tell you about my new boots?

Rita: NO!  You got new boots?

Me: I did!  I was so proud of myself!  I put together a great outfit for last night!  I wore my new boots and a pur-

Dad: STOP!  Enough fashion talk!  No more talking about fashion during football.  Watch the game!!!

Me: (aside to Rita) My boots are BROWN!

Rita: Really?!  You bought boots that aren’t black?!

Dad: Girls!  I said no fashion during football!

The game stopped for a commercial break and Dad said “If the next commercial is a clothing commercial, I am going to throw up!”  We tried our best to concentrate on the game, but failed several times.

Mom came down in the second quarter, and asked who we wanted to win.  Dad wanted Arizona, the Cinderella team, Jeff wanted Pittsburgh but the girls just wanted to watch the game (and talk fashion).  But Ang answered Mom’s question: We really don’t care, but I think Dad wants a new shirt!

Me: Ang, no fashion talk!

After the halftime show, Rita came out of the office and announced: I just changed my Facebook status to say “Rita is doing what girls love best: watching the game and breaking in a new pair of shoes!”

There was a chorus of reminders: NO FASHION TALK DURING THE GAME!!!!

Dad’s reply was: Those had better be football cleats!

I love watching football with my family!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    February 3, 2009 3:39 pm

    LOL! Dads with lots of girls get a special place in Heaven!

Trackbacks

  1. the hilarious reality of reality « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

