Skip to content

dramatic vs. dynamic

February 23, 2009

09_audrey_hepburn_profile_leo_fuchs_0650I’ve mentioned recently that I was rather melodramatic in my youth.  Everything in my life was a huge production.  There were never-ending woe-is-me moments in the epic tragedy in which I lived.  And I was queen of speaking in italics.

This greatly affected my relationship with God, which had absolutely no drama whatsoever.  I was bored with God.  I knew what the Church taught and I believed it, but was waiting for the Lord to do something dramatic in my life so that I could fully live out my so-called faith.  I heard testimony after testimony of people casting themselves before Christ and turning from their sinful ways, completely changing their lives for Him – all in HD (High Drama).  I wanted God to do that to me so I could have an intense story like the ones I heard so often, but I wasn’t about to send myself on a downward spiral of drugs and alcohol.  So I continued on my lukewarm way waiting for that dramatic moment.

But God knows me better than I know myself.  He knows I don’t do well with sudden changes.  Had I experienced such an HD moment as many of my friends did, I would have rejected God.  No, He knew changing my heart would be a long, drawn out process.  There was no drama involved, but it was, as my spiritual director reminded me, dynamic.  My passion for the Lord grew slowly, steadily and gently.  I didn’t even realized it until one day I looked back and saw how far I had come.

Learning this differentiation between the dramatic and the dynamic has been incredible.  Not only that – it has also been challenging as I realized this applies to me as well.  I don’t have to serve God dramatically, like becoming a missionary and serving it the far corners of the world.  People who are called to serve in that way are necessary, but I am not one of them.  I can serve the Lord in a dynamic way through the menial daily tasks I am faced with.  And that is one more thing I can focus on this Lent.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    February 24, 2009 11:38 pm

    Well said, Celia. :-)

Have your say...

