Skip to content

my list of assets

March 2, 2009

1950housewifeSeveral years ago, I went to dinner at a friend’s house.  K.K., a good friend and brother in the Lord, was very excited to find out that the pumpkin bread I brought was homemade.

“You know, Cecilia, you need to add this to your list of assets,” he said.

“My list of what?!”

“Assets,” he said matter-of-factly.  “It’s kinda like a resume that lists what will make you a good wife.”

“Don’t listen to him, Cecilia,” his wife broke in.  “K, leave her be!”

“Don’t worry, A, I never take him seriously.”

“But I am serious!” he insisted.   “If you have a list of assets, you can just hand it over to a potential spouse and it will save a lot of time.”

K.K. treats me like a kid sister and I love it.  I don’t see K and his wife very often these days, but when I saw them more in the past, K would find something for me to add to my list of assets.  A and I would just roll our eyes and laugh.

Well, I have something new to add to my list of assets.  I made a rather important investment with a portion of my tax return.  It didn’t dawn on me until I started researching my purchase, but I always assumed I would make this decision with my fiancé as we registered for our wedding.  That realization has not dampened my excitement, though.  I am positively giddy about it!  It is rather ridiculous, or so my brother, Charles, told me every time we talked on the phone this past week because I happened to mention it a couple of times during each conversation.

Anyway… After years of using hand-me-downs that had been handed down several times, I invested in a brand new set of stainless steel cookware!  The domestic diva in me is ready to spend the next several months in the kitchen experimenting with new recipes and my new pots and pans.  I’m even considering buying a new apron to match the color of the handles.

In all seriousness, I am pleased.  I know this investment will pay off.  My new cookware will last a long time.  It will come with me when I do eventually get married and create a home with my husband, which is why I need to update my list of assets*.  That is also why making this purchase as a single woman has not dampened my joy.  I am thrilled that I am able to provide for my husband and children through my decision in the present moment, and it keeps me laughing at the days to come!

*FYI – I never made an actual list.  I am simply referring to the hypothetical list K.K. made up.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    March 3, 2009 4:37 pm

    Lovely Lovely! What color are the handles??

  2. Charles permalink
    March 9, 2009 12:36 am

    Positively ridiculous!

Trackbacks

  1. STOP THE PRESSES!!! « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

