Skip to content

green eggs and ham

March 4, 2009

There is a moment just before you fall asleep when you are still slightly conscious and you can feel yourself drifting away.  It is a beautiful moment – one of my favorite times of the day.  And it was from one of these moments many years ago that I was rudely jolted:

“I do not like them, Sam-I-Am.  I do not like green eggs and ham,” my roommate’s voice sliced through the silence.

“Cris!!!” I groaned.  “I was almost asleep!”

We laughed, and there were a few minutes of quiet before she started up again.

“Are you going to recite the entire book?” I asked.

“It’s in my head – I’m trying to get it out so I can sleep” was her reply (or something like that…).  She picked up where she left off.

I don’t remember our exact conversation but that was the gist of it.  We went back and forth a couple more times before I teasingly threatened to throw a book across the room.  The closest book to my bed was thrown in the direction of Cristin’s bed.  Lucky for her, I have terrible aim, especially when I am half-asleep, because the book I had been reading that night was a hard-cover copy of Witness to Hope, a biography of John Paul II and a very large book!  It landed halfway between our beds.

That night was only one of many adventures Cristin and I have had during our friendship.  She has been a faithful and loyal friend, even when we were separated by over seven hundred miles.  I am continually blessed and humbled by her friendship.

Today is Cristin’s birthday.  I could not let this day pass without acknowledging her fabulous life and what an honor it is to know her, even when she recited Dr. Seuss at eleven o’clock at night!  Besides, Cris is probably my most faithful non-family-member reader of this blog, and I had to give her a shout-out.

Dearest Cristin, I wish you all the best for the coming year.  I am grateful for another year of having you as a friend and sister in the Lord.  May God bless you, your husband and children, and especially your parents today as you celebrate this year of life in Him Who reigns forever and ever. Amen!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    March 4, 2009 2:12 pm

    Thanks sister!! TO correct your version of the story, I think it was 1am, not 11pm…all the more reason for you to try and support me in my falling asleep!!

    Love you too.

Have your say...

