Skip to content

in the dark

March 11, 2009

I woke up this morning to a strange sound.  When I opened my eyes, I saw a figure coming toward me.  I knew it was Emily but I was still startled.

“I just wanted to let you know we don’t have power,” she whispered after apologizing for scaring me.  I thanked Emily and rolled over.  I still had fifteen minutes before my alarm would send me scrambling from my bed.  As I dozed, I tried to sift through the morning brain fog to figure out how I was going to conquer the darkness.

Wind roared around the house adding to the already eerie, candle-light atmosphere.  I plodded around the apartment trying to prepare for the day ahead.  It was not easy.  I found enough candles and flashlights to fill the bathroom with a decent amount of light.  Unfortunately, the glow cast weird shadows, and I could barely see myself in the mirror.  All I could do was pray my hair looked decent.

It was a good Lenten lesson as I learned to get by without my favorite electrical things.  I survived without lights, without my hair dryer and flat iron.  I even got through a morning without my electric tea kettle.  It was only by the grace of God that I survived without my tea!  Changes in my morning routine are never easy, but I didn’t panic.  Instead, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is possible for me to be detached from things I’m convinced I need.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    March 12, 2009 1:59 pm

    Adventures abounding!

Have your say...

