Skip to content

how to get a boyfriend – part II

March 26, 2009

Continued from Part I:

my-boyfriend“He lives in X City and goes to X park every day,” Miriam informed me.  She told me other various but confidential details about this mystery man.  She even drew a picture of him so I will recognize him when I meet him.  She also drew a picture of me with a tiara (Yes, that is a tiara on my head, not big hair!)  Side note: The reason Miriam drew me slightly larger than my boyfriend is because she likes me more than she likes him.  Oh and the big black thing at his neck is a bow-tie (see #12).

Here is the earnest young lady’s list of advice on how to find a boyfriend:

1)  Look your prettiest
2)  Find the prettiest dress and earrings
3)  Give him lots of notes
4)  Say “Hi” to him
5)  Give him lots of gifts
6)  Put make-up on yourself
7)  Brush your teeth really, really good every day (No problem there – I brush my teeth at least three times a day and sometimes more.  I kind of OCD about it.)
8)  Find the prettiest lipstick
9)  Find the prettiest shoes
10)  (or “Tenth of all” as Miriam said) Smile your pettiest smile
11)   Give him cake
12)  Give him lots of bow-ties (Me: Bow-ties? Miriam (emphatically): Yes, bow-ties.)
13)  Ask him “Will you be my boyfriend?” (Me: I think he should ask me if I would be his girlfriend.)
14)  Go on dates with him
15)  Give him a collection of stones (Me: He should give me a collection of little rocks and stones for my finger!)
16)  Go to a dance with him (Me: Can he dance? Miriam: Yes.  Me: Hurray!!!)
17)  Call him!! (Miriam even wrote down his phone number, but it was one digit short.  She is trying really hard to make “my wish” come true.)
18)  Give him lots of clothes
19)  Wear a tiara (Me: That’s sure to get some attention!!)
20)  Bring him dinner (Me: No problem – I love to cook!)
21)  Take pictures of him
22)  Always give him hearts
23)  Paint your nails
24)  Get my (Miriam’s) approval
25)  Pray to God about it
26)  Ask him if he will give you make-up (Me: Are you sure that’s necessary?  Tennille: Miriam has a good point.  You need to know if he’d be willing to buy make-up for you after you are married.)

We paused for dinner at thirteen and stopped at twenty-six because Miriam had to go to bed.  Otherwise, she would have gone all night and into the next day.

So there you have it!  A five-and-a-half-year-old’s perspective on how to get a boyfriend.  I just might have to test different parts of her theory.  I’ll let you know how it goes!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    March 26, 2009 2:02 pm

    “ALways give him hearts” – worked for me! :-)

  2. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    March 26, 2009 5:47 pm

    Is that a crown on his head or is it his spiky hair??

Trackbacks

  1. how to get a boyfriend - part I « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

