Skip to content

celebrating my anniversary

May 17, 2009

Today is a very special day, readers.  Today marks the day I received my Beloved for the first time in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Alter.

Twenty-two years ago, I was dressed as a little bride of heaven in a simple white dress with “angel wing” sleeves, and a crown of flowers adorned my head.  Attached to the crown was a beautiful veil that flowed behind me as I approached the alter trembling in awe and reverence.  The day of my First Holy Communion had finally come.  It was on that beautiful May 17th twenty-two years ago that my Beloved made Himself known to me in a real and physical way through His Body and Blood.

My childlike faith fully accepted and acknowledged that Christ was (and is) truly present in the consecrated bread and wine.  At seven years old I had yet to experience Love fully revealed, so my understanding of the Eucharist was rather one-dimensional.  Of course, that has changed over the last twenty-two years.  My life has been full of Love in all its joy and sorrow.  As my love for the Lord deepened and intensified, so did my desire for unity with Him.  Receiving the Body and Blood of Christ present in the Eucharist is the fulfillment of that desire.  Through this sacrament, Christ has slowly revealed Himself to me, which has added several dimensions to my knowledge and devotion to the Eucharist.  And on my loneliest of days, receiving my Lord and resting in His physical embrace through Holy Communion brings relief and comfort to my wretched soul.

I cannot even express how grateful I am that my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, would humble Himself to be physically present to me.  How often those words of the Mass cross my mind: “Lord, I am not worthy to receive you, but only say the word and I shall be healed.”

In my gratitude, I must acknowledge and celebrate the blessed day that was ordained by God to witness the first time I received His Son in Holy Communion.   My love for Christ in the Eucharist continues to grow stronger.  It is my lifeline.  I still humbly approach my Beloved literally trembling in awe and reverence.  I am honored to have the privilege of knowing Jesus Christ intimately in His Body and in His Blood.

I have been celebrating all day, my friends, and have been so overwhelmed with joy I could not contain it!  It is a glorious and happy day for me and my Beloved!  I pray that God will bless you this day more than He has already blessed me!

Have your say...

