Skip to content

singular bravery – take two

June 9, 2009

The romantic in me absolutely loves rain, thunderstorms, lightning and the like.  Yesterday’s weather delivered just that, complete with a rainbow at the end of the storm when the sun broke through the western clouds and shone on the eastern sky which was still distributing its contents on the city.

I sighed with relief as storm moved toward the horizon.  As much as I love tumultuous storms, I am terrified of severe weather.  A tornado watch had been issued for the evening.  I had just spent the weekend conquering fears of being alone, and the severe weather left me feeling vulnerable and unprotected.  Thankfully, I spent most of the watch doing laundry at my parents’ house and working out on their stationary bike, which is in the basement.

I survived the tornado watch, and the overwhelming sense of loneliness was embraced and offered up for those who are truly lonely.  Being a member of the Communion of Saints, I know I am never really alone.  That knowledge gives me hope, for I am surrounded by examples of God’s faithfulness to His people.  As much as I long for a good, holy a man in my life to whom I could say “Spread the corner of your cloak over me,” just as Ruth asked for the protection of Boaz, I am confident that the Lord will provide.

In the meantime, I will continue to face my fears with all the courage I can muster, knowing that someday the romantic in me will be able to enjoy severe weather too (after the emergency bag is packed, of course).

Disclaimer:  I refuse to hid from the hard days; I prefer to deal with them head on.  Besides, I knew this was coming.  With my thirtieth birthday swiftly approaching, I expected it.  Overall, aging doesn’t bother me.  As I said in my earlier post, some days are easier than others, but that is the same with every state in life, whether married or single.  I’ve had several difficult days in a row, but it could always be worse!

No comments yet

Have your say...

