Skip to content

singular bravery

June 9, 2009

One would think that I would be used to being single, but some days are easier than others.  This weekend was not one that could be categorized as easy.

It was Festival weekend (don’t worry, a review on the performance is coming), and I normally spend the entire weekend downtown enjoying the sights and sounds and smells with friends and family.  This year, however, was a little different.  Friday evening wasn’t an issue since people planned on coming to the performance, but I guess I just didn’t plan ahead very well for Saturday and Sunday.  Everyone I knew was busy, which meant if I was going to go it would be alone.

It’s times like that when I feel very single.  If I were in a relationship, finding someone to go with me to Festival wouldn’t even enter my mind.  But it was just me.

There I was, on Saturday afternoon, wrestling with a decision.  I could stay home by myself or go to Festival by myself.  I really didn’t want to go alone, but I also didn’t want to miss the Festival.  It’s one of my favorite weekends of the year!  My feisty side won.  I wasn’t going to sit home and twiddle my thumbs waiting for life to happen.  It doesn’t matter if I am single or in a relationship – my life is happening now.  Off I went.

Now, I know it would have been a lot more fun with other people, but I braved it on my own and still had a good time.  I’m glad I went.  I would have regretted missing the Arts Festival had I stayed at home.  Plus, I conquered many fears, not just once, but three times!  I was down there on Saturday afternoon, went back Saturday evening to see the Conklin Ceili Band and went again on Sunday afternoon.

It wasn’t easy, but I’m glad I didn’t let the woe-is-me-I’m-single mentality get the better of me.
Like I said, some days are easier than others.  Hurray for being single and brave!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 6:50 pm

    “…my life is happening now.” Exactly! Good for you!

Have your say...

