Skip to content

frequently asked question: where are you from?

June 18, 2009

Another version of this, which always makes me laugh, is “What are you?” I know what information they are interested in, but I don’t always give it to them right away. My answer varies depending on the question asked and whether or not I’m in a feisty mood.

Q – Where are you from?
A – Grand Rapids, MI.  Nasal accent and all!

Q – What are you?
A – A woman, but I thought that was obvious.  Maybe I need to work on that.

Once in a while, the inquirer will actually ask the question without beating around the bush: “What’s your nationality?” or “What’s your heritage?” Usually, the asker has an idea of what my answer will be, and they will follow up the first question with a second: “Are you Italian?” “Are you Lebanese?” “Jewish?” “Indian (from India)?” “Latvian?” “Spanish (from Spain)?”Again, the answer depends on how spirited I am feeling when the question is asked.

Q – What’s your nationality?
A – I’m American.  I was born in California, raised in Michigan and have lived in Georgia and New Jersey.  I am a football-loving, gun-shooting, Ford-driving, all-American girl.  (FYI – there is a lot more to me than that but those seem to sum up the ‘American’ part.)

Q – What’s your heritage?
A – My ancestors came from Mexico, Germany and Ireland.

Apparently I can pass for a lot since I am not Italian, Lebanese, Jewish, Indian from India, Latvian or Spanish.  My mom’s family is from Mexico (2nd generation) and my dad’s family is from Germany (4th or 5th generation) and Ireland (don’t know what generation, but I can trace my lineage all the way back to Prince Hugh O’Neill of Shane’s Castle, Antrim County). I have my Irish grandmother’s features with Mexican coloring which is why most people have a difficult time guessing ‘what’ I am.

Even though I’m an American girl, I enjoy celebrating the cultures that are part of my past, especially through music and dance.  I will confess, I am most familiar with Mexican dancing, a little with Irish dancing, but not as much with the German.

All those questions for one little answer: Mexican, German and Irish!  It is a fabulous combination, if I do say so myself!  I didn’t really have much say about it but I am grateful for the rich history I possess from each of these cultures.

Side note: One of my sisters claims she gets her organization from the German, her humor from the Irish and her passion from the Mexicans, making her the perfect person.  Although I have those same qualities, I don’t claim to be the perfect person.  Somewhere in there, I must have gotten humility, too. :)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosario permalink
    June 19, 2009 5:03 am

    Not everyone can be perfect! ;) As for Humility… That class is next semester!

  2. Cristin Luea permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:31 pm

    I remember the first time I saw you, I thought you were Indian, as in from India!

  3. June 20, 2009 1:11 pm

    When looking for appropriate responses, I think “brown” covers a lot, as well. :)

  4. Felipa permalink
    June 21, 2009 7:55 am

    I Love Football-loving,gun-shooting,Ford-driving, all American-girl.I Love it!! God Bless America!!

  5. Safety Guy permalink
    June 21, 2009 8:02 am

    That’s daddy’s girl, although I’m sure you meant: “football-loving, gun-shooting, Ford-driving, wish-I-had-a-pick-up, all American girl.”

Have your say...

