Skip to content

faq: how can you dance when you are such a klutz?

June 21, 2009

My dad asks this question quite often, usually after I’ve gone through another litany of walls I’ve walked into, doors and drawers I’ve closed on fingers, shoes I’ve tripped over, falls I’ve taken, the list could go on.

I admit I am a klutz, but a graceful klutz – mind you.  I think that is why most people don’t realize I’m so accident prone.  But I am.  I’ve had many minor accidents, several not-so-minor ones, and thankfully, not many major ones.  I’ve sprained both my wrists a couple of times (When I was in high school, I sprained both at the same time!); I’ve twisted my ankle once or twice; I slammed my finger in the car door once; but I’ve never actually broken a bone.  Most of my klutz moments result in bruising.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve turned a corner too soon and walked into a wall.  I constantly hit my knees walking by couches, end tables, beds, kitchen tables, chairs, desk drawers, and even car doors!  I’ve hit myself in the head with my own arm or as I’m opening a door.  I’ve even hit my head several times getting into or out of my car.  I am a walking hazard!

I bet right now you are wondering the same thing that befuddles my dad: How can an accident prone klutz be a dancer?  The answer isn’t that hard to figure out.  When I am dancing, I concentrate on my movements.  I don’t concentrate as hard when I am walking, but somehow I manage to recover gracefully.  My sister, Rose, has witnessed many klutzy moments and can attest to the fact that I am a graceful klutz.

So there you have it – a difference of concentration and focus creates a klutzy dancer.

Side note: I am a walking hazard as opposed to a driving hazard.  And I am not a hazard to others.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    June 23, 2009 9:30 am

    You just need to choreograph your entire day before you begin. Then you won’t have any trouble!! ;-)

Have your say...

