Skip to content

praying with honesty

June 29, 2009

“I don’t want to say this is ridiculous, but in all honestly, Lord, this is ridiculous,” I prayed out loud as I drove up and down the hilly country road.  “And that’s not just my opinion either – this whole situation is getting old.” 

I was exasperated.  I had just gotten off the phone with a dear friend, who has spent her life in the service of God and is once again in a frustrating situation.  She seems to have the same issue come up every few months.  It is a cause of stress and concern for my friend and for me as well.  Time and time again, I have seen my dedicated friend struggle with worry and anxiety.  I was tired of praying for the same thing over and over.  I was getting impatient and felt compelled to let God know exactly where I stood on the matter.  If I can’t be completely open and honest with God, how can I do so in my other relationships?

My candid prayer continued.  I became more passionate as I prayed, but I was by no means irreverent.  I was frank and straight-forward in my words, but never irreverent.  The Lord already knew what was on my heart; I was simply vocalizing it.

“I know you can do something about this,” I said.  “After all, you are… well… YOU!  Have some compassion and mercy, for crying out loud!  Please, do something already!”  I was not demanding that God do something – I was begging.    

I know God has it all under control, and I simply have to trust, but the Lord says “ask and you shall receive.”  So I asked.  Perhaps it was not the most conventional prayer, but it was sincere.  Once I relinquished my concerns to God, I felt a huge weight lift.  Now all I have to do is wait, and gently remind the Lord now and again of my request that He “so something already.”

Phil 4:6 – Dismiss all anxiety from your minds.  Present your needs to God in every form of prayer and in petitions of gratitude.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:50 pm

    “Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”

    I recite this one frequently when I find myself not understanding why or why not God is or is not doing something that I’ve asked for.

    Sincerely,
    Sherry

Have your say...

