Skip to content

west coast greetings

July 2, 2009

Today, I find myself sitting in a Los Angeles hospital room.  My next “Family Adventures: Meal Time (Part Three)” post will have to wait, as other things have taken precedence.

My sister, Rosario, who lives in LA was in an accident late Monday night.  She is going to be fine, but there have been a few complications.  Details of what happened are not being release as there is an investigation pending.  I realize this makes fertile soil for rumors to grow, but the only important detail is my sister’s current medical condition.

Rosario is resilient!  She sustained serious injury to her chest, which resulted in a collapsed lung and possible damage to her esophagus.  The soft tissue damage was repaired in surgery.  She is doing amazingly well.

Since she was first admitted, my sister has not been alone.  Her friends here in LA, who have become part of her family, have rallied around Rosario.  That first night, there were about ten people waiting for her to come out of surgery, which was around eight hours.  But they stayed and prayed.  There has been a steady stream of well-wishers stopping by to be with her, pray with her and simply love her.

My parents and I flew in yesterday.  I’m sure you can imagine how hard it would be for a parent to be so far away when their little one is in distress.  We are all very grateful for the generosity of everyone around us for making it possible to be at Rosario’s bedside.  Seeing her for ourselves has brought great comfort and relief.  Like I said, my sister is resilient!  She is teasing her friends and cracking jokes left and right.  That’s our Rose!  The only thing missing is her signature laugh!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lupe botello-cocklin permalink
    July 2, 2009 10:59 pm

    Please know that your family in indiana & oklahoma are all thinking of Rose & praying for her. We’re also thinking of Uncle Michael, Aunt Felipa & you. As a parent, I can’t imagine getting the phone call that they received and being so far away. My thoughts & prayers will be with all of you. Please keep up informed!

  2. chellebelle416 permalink
    July 3, 2009 7:35 pm

    I am glad to hear that Rose is doing so well… send her my love and warm reguards and all hopes for a speedy recovery!!
    Thank you for the update!!

Trackbacks

  1. joyous celebrations « she laughs at the days to come
  2. the celebration of life continues « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

