Skip to content

reflections of prayer

July 7, 2009

I can’t believe it has been a week since I received that horrific phone call from my sister’s friend, Danny.  I can still hear his voice in my head:

“May I please speak to Cecilia Schwartz?” he said.

“This is she.  How can I help you?”

“Cecilia,  this is Danny J-.”  He spoke slowly and deliberately.

“Danny?” I knew who it was but had no idea why he would call.

“I have something to tell you,” he began.  “First of all, Rose is going to be fine.  She is in the hospital.  She is in surgery.”  He paused between each sentence to allow it to sink in.  The first thing that ran through my head was that it was kidney stones, which have plagued my sister in the past.  But it wasn’t.

Danny told me of the accident and the injuries my sister received.  I could hardly believe what I was hearing.  I tried to remain calm, but I flagged down a co-worker to find someone to cover the phones.  I started shaking as I listened to the few details Danny had at that time.  Little did I know then how close we had come to losing her.  I’m glad I didn’t know – I wouldn’t have been able to handle such news.  Danny gave me the phone number of one of Rose’s friends who was at the hospital.  Danny himself was calling from Hawaii.

We hung up, and I turned to my co-worker.  “I have to call my parents,” I told her after telling her of Rose’s accident.  I don’t even know how I made it through the next ten minutes as I spoke to my mother, who was out of town at the family cabin.  I tried to remain calm and speak slowly, as Danny had.  My heart was racing and I couldn’t stop shaking.  My soul cried out to God, but there were no words.  My poor mother was devastated!  The phone kept cutting out, which made matters worse.  Eventually, I was able to tell Mom what I knew.  She then told Dad.  It wasn’t long before they packed up and headed home.

Meanwhile, work sent me home and I spent the next several hours on the phone.  It was the most difficult day of my life, but it was also the most blessed day.  My sisters friends, who gathered at the hospital shortly after the accident, prayed all night long while she was in surgery.  Their prayers not only benefited my sister, but the family as well.

It was amazing to see the Church Militant respond so quickly to the call for prayers.  The amount of people praying for my sister has probably reached ten thousand, if not more.  I can’t tell you how humbling that is!  With all those prayers, you can imagine how peaceful the week was in spite of what my sister endured.  It is beautiful to see God’s mercy first hand.  The prayers of God’s children were heard and were reflected in the lives of my family this week.  What a journey it has been!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    July 9, 2009 9:32 am

    God’s grace triumphs. Good job responding to it! Praying for you.

Trackbacks

  1. joyous celebrations « she laughs at the days to come
  2. the celebration of life continues « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

