Skip to content

the family reunion: who and why

July 31, 2009

It’s here: the most anticipated weekend of the year for the Schwartz family!!  This weekend is the annual Schwartz Family Reunion!!  For the last sixty plus years, members of our family have gathered together on the first Saturday/Sunday in August to swap stories, play games and basically enjoy each other’s company over a smorgasbord of food. 

The reunion is the highlight of my summer, and not just because of the food (although that is debatable… I’d do almost anything for one of Great-Aunt Magdalene’s chicken sandwiches and a piece of her apple pie…).  The main reason is I love my family.  I love the multi-generational relationships that have been formed and fostered over the years.  I love the traditions that never get old, like my grandpa weaseling his way to the front of the food line under the guise of ‘taste-tester’, or watching my dad’s cousins, who are over sixty and seventy years old, play volleyball with the younger generations.  I love listening to yarns spun by the older folk reminiscing of years and youth gone by.  I love learning about the foundation that was laid for me by past generations. I love that I come from a big family.  I love joining forces with my grandpa’s sisters and nieces as we tease him relentlessly (Don’t worry, the man loves it!  He pretends to be a victim, but he gives it right back!).  I love that even though we are from the same family tree, each branch is unique.  I love being surrounded by other Ohio State fans.  I could go on for awhile, but I think you get the idea: I love my family!

Like I said, we are a big family.  I am number two of six, my dad is number one of six, and my grandpa is number eight of ten.  It is the members and descendants of the ten that will gather this weekend to partake of the beloved tradition of the Schwartz Family Reunion.  Our numbers have fluctuated throughout the years.  Many members have been added trough marriage or birth; some moved away and aren’t able to make it every year; and many have passed on.  But we are there, nevertheless, rain or shine on the first weekend of August.  We gather to remember those who have gone before us.  We gather to welcome each other “home”: aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, grandparents, grandchildren, and cousins (first, second, removed and not removed).  We gather to eat great food, play or watch volleyball, look at old photos, listen to stories, talk and laugh with each other, hand out the infamous award (more on that later), and simply be a family. 

And it’s all happening this weekend!!!  Hurray!!  Stay tuned for more Schwartz family fun…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 9:10 am

    Very well expressed. I can’t believe your family has been doing a family reunion for 60 years- I was feeling good about our 28 years. Can’t wait to hear what the “infamous” award is.
    http//www.familyreunionhelper.com

Trackbacks

  1. the schwartz invasion « she laughs at the days to come
  2. faces reunited « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

