Skip to content

the mis-adventures of cecilia bedelia

September 30, 2009

ashamed“Um… I don’t know how to tell you this, but I forgot the key.” I tried to keep the panic from my voice.  We had just driven two hours from home and were ten minutes away from the cabin.  I was so upset with myself!  How could I have been so thoughtless?  I would have hung my head in shame had I not been driving.  My sisters were incredulous on hearing the news.  They sat in stunned silence as I called our friends, who were traveling in the car behind us.

“Are you kidding me?” the other Cecilia asked. 

“I only wish I were!” I moaned.  I had no idea what to do.  I had tried calling home to see if there was a spare key hidden anywhere, but no one answered.  Eventually, I got through to my younger siblings, Jeffrey and Rita.  They didn’t know if there was a spare or if the neighbors had one, but at least I was able to leave a message for Dad. 

I was on the verge of tears when I finally called Cecilia 2 with the plan (Among our families, I am Cecilia 1 since I am older).  “We’ll go to the cabin, have lunch and see if we can break in.” I knew the chances of us breaking in were slim – Grandpa has that place pretty well secured – but I was desperately praying for a miracle. 

Cecilia 2 has been one of my closest friends for all of her life and most of mine (Like I said, I’m older).  Despite our many years of friendship, Cecilia 2 had never been up to the Schwartz family cabin.  She began to think it was a made-up place and teased me all the time about our imaginary cabin. 

“I figured this would haphikepen!” she said.  “I knew the cabin didn’t exist!  This is probably some random cabin that you are ‘pretending’ is yours and you ‘conveniently’ left the key at home.”  Cecilia 2 and her husband, Curt, took the mishap in good stride.  Everyone gave me a hard time about it, but overall they were quite gracious. 

We had a delicious picnic on the deck of the cabin, while taking turns trying to pick the lock.  Poor Angelica was the bobby-pin donor, and her hair suffered for it. (Way to take one for the team, Ang!)  It was quite obvious we would never make it as thieves. 

Rosario and Cecilia 2 prayed for a miracle.  They asked for the intercession of St. Anthony to help us find a way in and for the intercession of Padre Pio, who was known to bi-locate.  They figured if they concentrated really hard they could will themselves inside.  That didn’t work either.  I wish we were holy enough to bi-locate or to will ourselves through locked doors, but we aren’t.

I finally got a hold of Grandpa, who informed me that our closest neighbors (one mile down the road) don’t have a key.  We were stuck.  Still, we made the most of it. 

After our picnic, we went on a hike down to the meadow, got ourselves covered in burrs walking through the brush, were startled by a pheasant, saw a few turkey, climbed a tree and generally enjoyed the fresh outdoors. 

We prayed that the doors to the cabin would be miraculously unlocked when we got back from our walk in the woods, but they weren’t.  We decided to head into town, go to Mass and figure out what we would do after Mass. 

Find out our fate in the next installment of The Mis-Adventures of Cecilia Bedelia… coming soon…

The Cabin

The Cabin

Have your say...

