Skip to content

the mis-adventures of cecilia bedelia part II

October 6, 2009

private roadWeary travelers that we were loaded ourselves back into our cars and headed out of the forest toward civilization.  My poor brain was desperately trying to find a solution to our predicament.  I didn’t want to have wasted all that time and gas for nothing!

God heard our prayers.  My mom called.  She had worked the night shift Friday night/Saturday morning and had been asleep for most of our ordeal.  She was awake now and generously offered to drive up with Rita and the key.  What a mom!!!!  I was so grateful!  We all were, but I was more so.  By the time we made it to town, we were all relieved and looking forward to the rest of our weekend in the great outdoors with a roof over our heads.

lighthouseThere was still an hour or so before Mass so we headed over to Lake Michigan to walk the pier.  Dad finally returned our frantic calls as we were headed back to shore.  Rose explained what happened, and Dad couldn’t stop laughing.

“Ohhh, this is too funny!  This is going down in history!  It’s… it’s historical!!”  He was pretty much hysterical over the news of my forgetfulness.

“Uncle Mike,” Cecilia 2 said after Rose put him on speakerphone, “I think this is going to become of the five stories we always tell on Christmas Eve – it’s THAT good!”  Both Rose and Cecilia 2 were excited to have something to hold over my head.  I’m never going to live this down!

speakerphoneI sighed.  “I’m so ashamed of myself!”

“You should be!” Dad teased.  “I mean – come on, Cecilia!  How could you forget the key?!”

“I don’t know!”

“I would think that would be the first thing you made sure you had!”

There was a chorus of “Well it will be from now on!”  “She’ll never forget it now!”  etc., etc.

We chatted with Dad for a while longer and soon we settled into a pew at Mass.  It was truly an offering of thanksgiving!  The priest gave an amazing homily that left each of us in awe and quite convicted.

humblepieThen it was off to meet our rescuers.  We made contact and caravanned back to the cabin for fajitas and apple pie.  Of course, while everyone enjoyed their apple pie, I attempted to choke down a large slice of humble pie, as Cecilia 2 put it.

At dinner, Cecilia 2 announced that she does believe in the cabin, but she decided that “seeing isn’t believing.  Believing is being inside!”

The rest of our time was full of even more laughter and plenty of relaxation, thanks to my hero of a mother and her sidekick, Rita.  If it hadn’t been for them, our adventure would have been a catastrophe!  But “all’s well that ends well”.  And our story ended amazingly well!  Even Cecilia 2 admitted the trip was more memorable because of the mis-adventures of the day, but I guarantee I will never ever forget the cabin key again.cheers

travelers

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    October 8, 2009 2:29 pm

    All’s well that ends well! So glad it all turned out! Was that humble pie tasty or what??

Have your say...

