Skip to content

our lady of the rosary

October 7, 2009

According to the Catholic encyclopedia at NewAdvent.org, “Feast Days, or Holy Days, are days which are celebrated in commemoration of the sacred mysteries and events recorded in the history of our redemption, in memory of the Virgin Mother of Christ, or of His apostles, martyrs, and saints, by special services and rest from work. A feast not only commemorates an event or person, but also serves to excite the spiritual life by reminding us of the event it commemorates” (emphasis added).

The last sentence certainly rings true in my life. I love feast days!! I love having something to recognize, honor and celebrate. I am always encouraged after reflecting on the Blessed Mother or the lives of the saints and the amazing things they accomplished through humility and the grace of God. Many different saints lived in times when cultures and attitudes clashed with those of the Church, similar to the current state of society. Their stories are full of hope and victory. On their feast days, we celebrate the power of God reflected in His people, and I am reminded that I too must have confidence and hope in the Lord.

Today happens to be one such feast, which is very close to my heart: Our Lady of the Rosary. I’ve always had a special devotion to Our Lady of the Rosary because my older sister, Rosario, bears her name.

For centuries, the world has called on the humble intercession of our Most Holy Mother by meditating on the life of her Son through the mysteries of the rosary. The power of prayer, most especially the intercession of Mary Most Holy, is evidenced in the history of today’s feast, which can be read here.

This year has brought me even closer to Our Lady of the Rosary as I truly believe it was Mary’s intercession under the titles of Our Lady of the Rosary and Our Lady of Guadalupe in union with the intercession of Christ, the Infant of Prague that spared my sister’s life.  Is it any wonder that I am commemorating this feast with more awe and reverence than ever before?! 

I have always enjoyed feast days and marking their significance in my life.  Today I honor the Blessed Mother as Our Lady of the Rosary in thanksgiving for the gift of Rosario.

Our Lady of the Rosary, pray for us!

Our Lady of the Rosary

Our Lady of the Rosary

For more information on this beautiful icon, visit the Archdiocese of Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada website.

No comments yet

Have your say...

