Skip to content

windows & doors

November 11, 2009

5blythswood-2Everything seemed to be falling into place for my new venture. It seemed so easy; it was almost too easy. I knew there were a few more details to work out, most of them small but one was a make-or-break detail. Whether or not the new project came to pass was entirely dependent on this one element, and the chance of this part of the plan actually happening was not great.

“What if it doesn’t work out?” I fretted to Rose. “This desire could be a reality if they are willing to be flexible, but what if they aren’t? What if they don’t see this as important?”

“Cecilia, if it doesn’t happen, something else will come up. Where God closes a window, somewhere He opens a door.”

“Rose, you said it backwards. It’s the other way around.” I shook my head. She still has a little brain fog from the anesthesia once in a while.

“I know what I said, Cecilia.  I said it on purpose,” she explained. “God’s vision is greater than ours. Sometimes all we focus on is a small window and we can’t see anything else. When the window closes, we turn around and see that God has opened a huge door, which turns out to be a better opportunity than our small window.”

“Wow, Rose, that was really insightful!”

“I know, right?!” she exclaimed. “I have a lot of time to think about these things.”

I haven’t addressed the major detail yet, but I have peace about the situation thanks to Rose’s not-so-backward perspective. Move over Crap Discourse, it’s time for Windows and Doors Wisdom!

photo c/o The Armin Grewe Homepage

Have your say...

