Skip to content

my 2009 thanksgiving grateful list

November 25, 2009

Whenever I start thinking of what I am thankful for, I start humming the catchy Thanksgiving song from “Holiday Inn”, which starts, “I’ve got plenty to be thankful for…”  And it’s true.  This has been a fantastic year!  The first six months were amazing, but the miracles of the last five have left a profound sense of gratitude.  I do have plenty to be thankful for.  I decided to follow my sister’s example and write my own Grateful List:

I’m grateful my sister’s life was spared.

I’m grateful for the support of extended family and friends during our crisis.

I’m grateful for the power of prayer and for all who prayed for my family.

I’m grateful the mercy God has shown to my family.

I’m grateful for Rosario’s friends in LA.

I’m grateful they kept vigil at her bedside until we arrived.

I’m grateful for those who cared for her after she was released from the hospital, especially Danny J.

I’m grateful for the ActOne family who set up an emergency fund for my uninsured missionary sister.

I’m grateful for the generosity of all who have contributed to her fund.

I’m grateful for every moment I get to spend with my sister.

I’m grateful for my parents and my other siblings and the care they have given Rose, especially Angelica.

I’m grateful we got to watch my mom finish a half marathon.

I’m grateful for forgiveness.

I’m grateful for each moment of my life, whether it brings pain or joy, because I have the hope of everlasting joy.

I am grateful that I have the opportunity to share my family’s joy with others through this harrowing experience.

I could go on for days – after all, it was a long five months – but I think you get the point.

God’s grace and mercy has been abundant, and  I am eternally thankful for His generosity to my family.

We love our Buckeyes

The Six of Us

With our extended family

With more family

Even more family!

"There were never such devoted sisters"

No comments yet

Have your say...

