Skip to content

another warrior

December 23, 2009

Life is a battle, but not all battles are the same.  This week, an old family friend completed his battle with cancer and is now celebrating his victory in heaven. 

Alan P Hartwick was an amazing and holy man, who dedicated his artistic talents to the service of Christ and his Church.  As a videographer, Alan produced several documentaries about the Catholic Church, including one about our parish priest and another about a pilgriamage from Mexico City to Grand Rapids with a statue of Our Lady of Guadalupe, which was blessed by John Paul II, as well as several others.  He was also the man benind the “Little Children” video series.  The first one, “The Rosary for Little Children”, included several of my personal friends in the cast. 

I didn’t know Alan as well as I would have wished, but I knew a great deal of him, having several mutual friends.  I had been working on a project in which Alan served as an advisor.  We will somehow have to continue on without his wisdom and direction.  I suppose we shall now rely on his intercession.

Alan Hartwick will be missed.  The world’s loss is heaven’s gain, as “another warrior returns from the fight”.  Enjoy the victory party, Mr. Hartwick!

Press On

by Robert M Filoramo

For the man who follows Jesus all the days of his life
Who picks up his cross and walks with his God
A glorious inheritance awaits him at the end
Where he will see and know his true Father
And the pearl of great price is in his hand

So as for me I will press on in running the race
With my eyes fixed on Jesus
Who inspires and perfects my faith
I will fight the good fight
With all my heart and soul
Until the day that I’m with Jesus,
The day I’m finally home
The day that I have won the crown

He will approach the throne of his Father
With Jesus at his side
The Father will rise and say, “Welcome home
You’re a good and faithful servant
Come home and take your reward
The battle’s done, come and take your rest
Stay with Me forever more”

And the heavens will resound with the thunder of praise
The angels and the saints will shout for joy
And the Father will dance for His son has come home
Another warrior returns from the fight
Another victory for the Lamb of God

© 1989 Robert M. Filoramo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Safety Guy permalink
    December 23, 2009 7:40 pm

    Yes, Alan Hartwick was a good and faithful servant in my contacts with him. He and his talents will be missed. May God rest his soul.

    In the Rosary for Little Children not only were some of your friends featured, but also your little brother.

  2. December 23, 2009 8:15 pm

    I know, Dad, but sometimes he doesn’t like it when I mention him specifically… so I didn’t. :)

Have your say...

