Skip to content

brush, floss and smile often

January 14, 2010

I had the pleasure of visiting the dentist a couple of weeks ago for my usual visit.  Actually, I hadn’t seen my dentist in almost a year, but not because I loathe and avoid the dental chair as many do – I actually love getting dental cleanings and check-ups.  I wasn’t able to make my six month cleaning and kept forgetting to reschedule until last month.

It  was wonderful to once more sit in the big plastic chair with the blinding white light in my face, while the hygienist polished away.  Ahhh… I do so love that after-the-dentist fresh feeling.  The hygienist was amazed at how clean my teeth were considering it had been eleven months since my last intensive cleaning, but I reminded her that I brush at least twice a day and floss diligently.  If I’m having a bad day, I’ll brush more than twice.  There is something about having a fresh clean mouth that gives me a burst of energy and suddenly I’m able to overcome any obstacle.  Perhaps I associate brushing my teeth with waking up in the morning and when I brush during the day I feel like I’m starting over; or perhaps it is the calming effect of taking a few minutes to relax and clear my thoughts while I brush.  I really don’t care what the reason is: all I know is that it helps!  After a quick mid-day brush, I feel like I can conquer the world… or at least the rest of the day!

There was a small area of concern this time around that required a second visit.  It was nothing major – just a preventative measure.  It took all of five minutes to prep, correct and protect my tooth.  All of the meticulous care has paid off once again!  Crisis averted, or I should say “cavity averted”!

I am somewhat of an ideal dental patient considering my brushing/flossing obsession and my low-sugar diet.  But I’m not a money-maker patient since I rarely need anything from my dentist other than the regular cleaning and check-up, and an occasional sealant.  Of course, that doesn’t stop him from raving about my good habits every time I’m there.

“Fabulous job! Keep up the good work,”  he said after my cleaning.  My dentist started to walk away as I gathered my purse and goodie bag full of samples.  Just before rounding the corner, he looked back and said, “Brush, floss and smile often!”

I grinned.  “Always!”

No comments yet

Have your say...

