Skip to content

surviving sappy sonnets

January 19, 2010

In less than a month, one of my most dreaded holidays as a single woman will arrive: Valentine’s Day.  I am not one of those single women who is completely opposed to the holiday of love, but I still dread its yearly appearance.

You see, I am reminded of my singleness every day.  Some days are easier than others, with most being not only endurable but enjoyable, but the one day that I find almost unbearable is Valentine’s Day.  It’s not even the actual day – usually it’s just the weeks and days leading up to it that get me.  Those are the days when sappy sonnets of romance are smeared in my little single face.  And though I don’t enjoy being taunted by the over-commercialization of heart-shaped candy boxes and bouquets of red roses, I would never begrudge those who are in relationships a chance to celebrate their love just because I am single.

For reasons unknonwn, being single has been especially difficult as of late, which means I’m rather wary of Valentine’s Day this year.  In all my years of dating, I’ve never dated anyone on or near Valentine’s Day.  Perhaps that has something to do with my current loathing, but one thing I’ve learned from those lonely evenings is how to survive!  For me, that means spending Valentine’s Day weekend with my favorite single man: my grandpa. 

The year after Grandma passed, Rosario and I spent Valentine’s Day weekend with Grandpa to cheer him up, and it became a little tradition.  Rosario hasn’t been able to make it the last couple of years (she was in Mexico two years ago, Los Angeles last year and will be there again this year visitng her man), but I still keep it up.  I don’t think Grandpa realizes that I visit every year on that weekend or the service he renders, but that doesn’t matter.  He welcomes me with open arms, fills me up with his homemade wine and keeps me laughing with his adventerous stories, which is what he does every time I visit.  And I love it!  It has been a while since I spent quality time with my grandpa, and it will be good to drink his wine again – I mean see him again.

While I may not enjoy visions of red and pink hearts everywhere I turn, I am looking forward to Valentine’s Day and spending it with one of my favorite men alive!

(And in case you are wondering, I am very excited that my sister gets to spend Valentine’s Day with her man!  That means I get Grandpa all to myself!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Safety Guy permalink
    January 20, 2010 8:49 pm

    Your dad is jealous of your grandpa.

    Love,

    Dad

    • January 21, 2010 12:10 pm

      I did say Grandpa was ONE of my favorites. Don’t worry, Dad, you are also among the favs. :)

  2. Cecilia permalink
    January 25, 2010 3:04 pm

    You could just be like me and ignore Valentine’s Day in favor of the day after… National Be Nice to a Grouch day. It is so much more fun! And the colors for it aren’t pink and red… more like green (and yellow, for this grouch). Come celebrate with us! :-)

Trackbacks

  1. single survival | she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

