Skip to content

faq: are you twins?

January 26, 2010

This is obviously a question that is not only asked of me, but of my sister, Rosario, as well and usually when we are in each other’s company.  And I get it – really: two brown girls who look related and whose ages are difficult to decipher… they must be twins!

Okay, so I really don’t get it.  Sure, Rosario and I have some physical similarities; we are close in age; and we share many of the same tastes and interests, but Rosario takes after Mom’s side of the family while I take after Dad’s.  Are you sure we look like twins? I often want to ask.  We have actually been asked if we were identical twins, if you can believe that!  More than once, but I don’t believe the askers of that question, even though adults, fully understood the meaning of identical.

We get asked the twin question in the most random of places, and the answer depends on how mischievous Rosario feels.  We usually answer that we are not in fact twins, just sisters who are close in age.  Sometimes Rosario will have a little fun with the questioner and answer “Yes, we are twins.”

“Really?!  So, how far apart are you?” is usually the next question.

“About nineteen months – it was a really long labor,” Rosario says in all seriousness, while I try to keep a straight face.

Typically other person will catch on.  We then explain that we are just sisters who happen to resemble each other, even though we don’t think we look similar enough to be taken for twins.  Once in a while, the asker will walk away with a confused look on her face as she tries to make sense of our mother’s extended labor.

Once, we were out with a bunch of friends and our brother, Charles, showed up.  Some random person asked the usual twin question.  Charles was standing close by and quickly answer, “Actually, we’re triplets!”  The duped guy brought some of his friends over to meet the “triplets”.  Rosario and Charles had an easy time convincing the guys as they put our smiling faces on display to prove the similarity (Charles is a combination of me and Rosario) and rattled off “our” birthday and other info that was asked.  We enjoyed every moment of our evening as triplets!

Recently, my youngest sister, Rita and I were asked if we were twins.  That one surprised me, considering I am nine years older…  Again, two brown girls who look related… I suppose the Schwartz sisters are ageless, since others are unable to determine our ages based on physical appearance.

I don’t understand why people think we look like twins, but perhaps that is because I’m keenly aware of each sibling’s unique individuality.  Still, I don’t mind them asking.  I would never claim to have the same intense, distinctive twin bond with my siblings, but it is an honor that others see the strong love between us and assume we must be twins (or triplets).

the "triplets"

the nine-year-difference twins

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Charles permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:05 pm

    “…they put our smiling faces on display to prove the similarity (Charles is a combination of me and Rosario) and rattled off…”

    I am NOT a mere combination of you and Rosario…God obviously took from each of you, your good aspects and perfected them in me. Thus, I am not a combination but the perfection of.

  2. Dad permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:31 pm

    Actually, all my lovely girls had the good sense to look like their mother.

  3. Cristin Luea permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:27 pm

    I always wanted to be a twin…Most people just say I look like I’m 12…

Have your say...

