Skip to content

a vino valentine

February 20, 2010

One week ago, Angie and I loaded my car with overnight bags, laundry and Valentine’s gifts and headed north.  Clarification: I loaded the car while Ang assisted.  Some of you may not know that one of the things I love the most about road trips is loading the trunk of my car.  I have a system, but I’ll save that for another post…

Where was I?  Oh, heading north to visit Grandpa!  Right.

Grandpa met us at the door with open arms and an open bottle of wine, as promised.  As soon as Ang and I unloaded the car, we gave Grandpa his Valentine’s present (a delicious box of chocolates).  He was pleasantly surprised, but didn’t call me a sneaky dame like he has in years past.  Then Ang and I exchanged gifts (I guess it really wasn’t an exchange because we went half-and-half on a box of Bailey’s Irish Cream truffles.  She gave me her half and I gave her mine.), and we all settled in to watch the Olympic opening ceremonies.

It turned out to be the best Valentine’s weekend I’ve ever had.  We acknowledged the feast of St. Valentine and honored him by basking in familial love.  We didn’t do anything out of the ordinary, except eat way too much chocolate.  Angie, Grandpa and I did what we always do when we are together: we ate, laughed, drank wine, listened to Grandpa’s stories (that was me and Ang; Grandpa obviously told the stories), visited the wine cellar, did laundry, ate, drank more wine, took a nap…  The beautiful love between a grandfather and his granddaughters made the food and the wine taste better than ever and made Grandpa’s stories even funnier (or maybe that was the vino combined with all those toasts… “I’ll drink to that!”).  Being so full of love left no room for self-pity or thoughts of woe-is-me-I’m-single.  They didn’t even cross my mind as I embraced what God called me to in the moment.

I felt utterly spoiled throughout the weekend, but Grandpa spoils us every time we visit.  He grilled his special ribs one night and mouth-watering steaks the next.  He kept our glasses full of wine as we tried to outmatch each other’s wit.  But the best part of the weekend was the Houdini wine opener Grandpa finally remembered to give me.  He had told me awhile back that he had picked up an extra one for me, so he presented it to me as a Valentine’s gift.  It was seriously the best gift ever!  Plus, he gave me a bottle of wine to go with the opener.  Talk about spoiled!

And so my scheme for surviving sappy sonnets worked once again!  There’s nothing like a doting grandpa to make a single woman feel loved and acknowledged.  It truly was the best Valentine’s ever!

The Houdini

Love at first sight

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 8:13 am

    INSPIRED!

  2. Alisha permalink
    February 23, 2010 8:08 pm

    Wow – this is soooo awesome!

Have your say...

