Skip to content

morning reality check

April 1, 2010

I got up early and went for a run this morning.  I started running again about a week or so ago.  The mild spring afternoons were begging for someone to run through them, so I laced up my shoes and off I went!

I knew the liturgical schedule of the Triduum would prevent me from running this afternoon, but with the summer-like forecast I figured a morning run wouldn’t freeze my assets.

I left the house and was greeted by perfect running weather.  I couldn’t have asked for a more glorious morning run!  The smell of spring lingered in the air.  Even through the dim glow of the street lights, I could see trees budding and crocuses in bloom.

Three quarters of the way through my run, I remembered why I stopped running in the morning, aside from the fact that I refuse to run in ice and snow.  I saw a skunk!  I was running on a block where a parking lot and grassy lawns separate three schools when I saw something out of the corner of my eye.  I squinted, but my eyes flew open as soon as I saw the white streak reflect the parking lot lights.  It was running along the other end of the parking lot parallel to me.  A bird fluttered on the ground and I nearly screamed thinking it was another skunk.

I was jumpy and paranoid for the remainder of my run.  I was terrified the skunk would suddenly change direction and charge toward me with intent to spray, or that there were others lying in wait to spray me as I ran by.

I made it home without further incident.  As much as I enjoyed the first part of my early morning run, I don’t know if I want to take any chances in the future.  Plus there was that close call from last year… Right now, all I know is if the exercise didn’t wake me up, my morning reality check certainly did and my future in A.M. runs is rather questionable…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    April 2, 2010 6:46 am

    Now don’t let that skunk stop you from running. Next time you go running take two sticks with you and gently tap them together as you run. That skunk will not bother you at all. Actually nobody will bother you. ;-)

Have your say...

