Skip to content

encouraging early arrivals

May 1, 2010

As I mentioned in my previous post, we heard an amazing homily we heard at my cousin’s First Communion.  At one point, the priest asked the kids what was so special about that day.  They responded that it was their First Communion.  “That’s right!  And what does first mean?” he said.  The kids raised their hands respectfully, and Father collected their answers: “Yes, first means you’ve never done this before.  It also means there will be a second time and a third time and so on.  Your First Communion will begin a lifetime of receiving Jesus in the sacrament of Holy Eucharist.”  He stressed the last line as a reminder and encouragement to the parents to follow through.

“So what are you going to do tomorrow?” he asked.

A little hand shot up in the air.  “Be on time [to church]!”

The priest laughed.  “I love it!” he announced to the congregation.  “It wasn’t a matter of whether or not she would be going to Sunday Mass with her family, it was whether or not they would be on time!”  Father continued his homily, challenging the families to truly practice their Catholic faith.

At Chiara’s after party, we learned that it was indeed Chiara who had the spunky answer of being on time.  Her father said, “I was proud of Chiara’s answer but all I could think of was ‘No, Chiara.  It’s not enough to be on time; we must be early’.”

“That is too funny!” Rosario cried.  “I didn’t realize it Chiara who said that, but all I could think of was ‘Ha! Not according to my dad.  According to him, if you’re five minutes early, you’re already ten minutes late’.”

“Ooooo…” Jeff’s eyes lit up.  “I like that!”

I rolled my eyes.  Only a Schwartz would get all excited about a new way to encourage an early arrival.  I’m sure you must be thinking: Aren’t you a Schwartz, Cecilia?  Don’t you get excited about the same thing? The answer is yes and no.  I am a Schwartz, but I think my Latin side helps cancel out the need to arrive ultra early.  Don’t get me wrong – I like being early, but not ridiculously early, like my dad and, apparently, our cousin.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    May 1, 2010 9:37 pm

    :) I like it. Glad you had a good time.

Have your say...

